Skip to content

Faith – The Tenth Hour

March 6, 2015

Oh my goodness!  I have been working hard to get this finished today as we’re off to California tomorrow.  Note to self: it’s much easier to complete a project – especially one like this – in increments rather than all at once.  It gets overwhelming.

Still…endure to the end! =)  Last hour.

D&C 25:12

For my soul delighteth in the song of the heart; yea, the song of the righteous is a prayer unto me, and it shall be answered with a blessing upon their heads.

I don’t know if songs are scripture, but I think they can teach us things, and lift us, and inspire us.  Ever since I started this project I wanted to do an hour of my favourite hymns.  So this is it, even though I didn’t get through all my favourite scriptures.  There are so *many* awesome ones.

Ye Elders of Israel

Ye elders of Israel, come join now with me
And seek out the righteous where’er they may be –
In desert, on mountain, on land, or on sea –
And bring them to Zion, the pure and the free.

The harvest is great, and the lab’rers are few;
but if we’re united, we all things can do.
We’ll gather the wheat from the midst of the tares
And bring them from bondage, from sorrows and snares.

We’ll go to the poor, like our Cpatain of old,
And visit the weary, the hungry, and cold;
We’ll cheer up their hearts with the news that he bore
And point them to Zion and life evermore.

Oh Babylon, O Babylon, we bid thee farewell;
We’re going to the mountains of Ephraim to dwell.

How Firm a Foundation

How firm a foundation ye saints of the Lord
Is laid for your faith in his excellent word!
What more can he say than to you he hath said,
Who unto the Saviour, who unto the Saviour,
Who unto the Saviour for refuge have fled?

In ev’ry condition – in sickness, in health,
In poverty’s vale or abounding in wealth,
At home or abroad, on the land or the sea –
As thy days may demand, as they days may demand,
As thy days may demand, so thy succor shall be.

Fear not, I am with thee; oh, be not dismayed,
FOr I am thy God and will still give thee aid.
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by my righteous, upheld by my righteous,
Upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

How Gentle God’s Commands

How gentle God’s commands!
How kind his precepts are!
Come, cast your burdens on the Lord
And trust his constant care.

Beneath his watchful eye,
His Saints securely dwell;
That hand which bears all nature up
Shall guard his children well.

Why should this anxious load
Press down your weary mind?
Haste to your Heav’nly Father’s throne
And sweet refreshment find.

His goodness stands approved,
Unchanged from day to day;
I’ll drop my burden at his feet
And bear a song away.

Be Thou Humble

Be thou humble in thy weakness, and the Lord thy God shall lead thee,
Shall lead thee by the hand and give thee answer to thy prayers.
Be thou humble in thy pleading, and the Lord thy GOd shall bless thee,
Shall bless thee with a sweet and calm assurance that he cares.

Be thou humble in thy calling, and the Lord thy God shall teach thee
To serve his children gladly with a pure and gentle love.
Be thou humble in thy longing, and the Lord thy God shall take thee,
Shall take thee home at last to ever dwell with him above.

Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing

Come, thou fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing thy grace
Streams of mercy never ceasing
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet
Sung by flaming tongues above
Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it
Mount of thy redeeming love.

Here I raise my Ebeneezer
Hither by thy help I’ve come
And I hope by thy good pleasure
Safely to arrive at home
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it
Seal it for thy courts above

Jesus sought me when a stranger
Wandering from the fold of God
He to rescue me from danger
Interposed His precious blood.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love.
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it
Seal it for thy courts above.

O to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be!
Let thy goodness like a fetter, bind my wandering heart to thee
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love.
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it
seal it for thy courts above.

Everytime this makes me bawl.  Every. Single. Time.  Why did they remove it from the hymnbook?  Why?  It really makes me feel like they are more concerned with administration, rather than the hearts of those who desire to sing it.  A terrible mistake and so sad. =(

Because I Have Been Given Much

Because I have been given much, I too must give;
Because of thy great bounty, Lord, each day I live
I shall divide my gifts from thee
With ev’ry brother that I see
Who has the need of help from me.

Because I have been sheltered, fed by thy good care,
I cannot see another’s lack and I not share
My glowing fire, my loaf of bread,
My roof’s safe shelter overhead,
That he too may be comforted.

Because I have been blessed by thy great love, dear Lord,
I’ll share thy love again according to thy word.
I shall give love to those in need;
I’ll show that love by word and deed:
Thus shall my thanks be thanks indeed.

A Poor Wayfaring Man of Grief

A poor, wayfaring Man of grief
Hath often crossed me on my way,
Who sued so humbly for relief
That I could never answer nay.
I had not pow’r to ask his name,
Whereto he went, or whence he came;
Yet there was something in his eye
That won my love; I knew not why.

Once, when my scanty meal was spread,
He entered; not a word he spake,
Just perishing for want of bread.
I gave him all; he blessed it, brake,
And ate, but gave me part again.
Mine was an angel’s portion then,
For while I fed with eager haste,
The crust was manna to my taste.

I spied him where a fountain burst
Clear from the rock; his strength was gone.
The heedless water mocked his thirst;
He heard it, saw it hurrying on.
I ran and raised the suff’rer up;
Thrice from the stream he drained my cup,
Dipped and returned it running o’er;
I drank and never thirsted more.

‘Twas night; the floods were out; it blew
A winter hurricane aloof.
I heard his voice abroad and flew
To bid him welcome to my roof.
I warmed and clothed and cheered my guest
And laid him on my couch to rest,
Then made the earth my bed and seemed
In Eden’s garden while I dreamed.

Stript, wounded, beaten nigh to death,
I found him by the highway side.
I roused his pulse, brought back his breath,
Revived his spirit, and supplied
Wine, oil, refreshment–he was healed.
I had myself a wound concealed,
But from that hour forgot the smart,
And peace bound up my broken heart.

In pris’n I saw him next, condemned
To meet a traitor’s doom at morn.
The tide of lying tongues I stemmed,
And honored him ‘mid shame and scorn.
My friendship’s utmost zeal to try,
He asked if I for him would die.
The flesh was weak; my blood ran chill,
But my free spirit cried, “I will!”

Then in a moment to my view
The stranger started from disguise.
The tokens in his hands I knew;
The Savior stood before mine eyes.
He spake, and my poor name he named,
“Of me thou hast not been ashamed.
These deeds shall thy memorial be;
Fear not, thou didst them unto me.”

Oh my gosh, so many hymns!  I can’t believe the hour is up already!  That went so fast, and I barely scratched the surface.  Maybe I need to have a project where I post nothing but awesome hymns? =)

Here’s a last one, because it’s my husband’s favourite and it made him so happy when the Mo Tab sang it in conference all those years ago.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

